Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Severely oxidated headlights
03-07-2011, 02:50 PM
Severely oxidated headlights
Hi Guys,

My aunt found out that I have a DA polisher and she asked me a favour.

She has a little Nissan Micra four door. The hesdlights have known better days, its just as bad as the Renault Clio that PaulVW restored a few months ago. I have the following in my arsenal, please advise if I can use it:

Menz Power Gloss
Menz SIP
Menz IP
Menz Final Finish
Megs Plast-X
Collinite 845
White, Blue and Red flexipads buffing pads.

Do you guys think I will be able to make a difference to the condition, or do I need to wetsand, I would rather not as I have no experience with it.

Thanks
Wouter

Wouter
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-07-2011, 04:35 PM
RE: Severely oxidated headlights
I've had a go at headlights before.
All I did was sand with waterpaper(P400 then P800) soaked in water and a soap of some kind, I would use your regular car wash shampoo, to lubricate. Then followed by SIP on a LC orange pad on my rotary. Results were good but I would suggest maybe using a finer grain sand paper(finer than P800) to finish before polishing to ensure that you remove more scarring caused by the sanding. Especially seeing as you are using a DA.

[Image: 3orql10xyr5983zr0vrx.jpg]
03-07-2011, 04:49 PM
Lets see them.
03-07-2011, 04:53 PM
If you wanted to see my attempt....sorry, they are on a car that wasn't mine and have no pics. They were on an old Chrysler Neon though.

[Image: 3orql10xyr5983zr0vrx.jpg]
03-07-2011, 05:04 PM
Thanx Stax, I will do the wetsand if all else fail. I will be trying the power gloss as it has the deepest cut, but I will follow the rule of least aggressive method first and then more aggressive. I saw a video on youtube off a Dodge Neon that a guy did, they were not as bed as these are but I think I will see results.

I will post some pics as soon as I see my aunt again, she is out of town for a while on business.